Ghana, Politics

Ministers Who Have Lost Their Seats

The 2020 Presidential and Parliamentary elections in Ghana has brought a few surprises. About 17 ministers of state so far have been confirmed to have lost their parliamentary seats.

  • Derek Oduro – Deputy Minister for Defense (Nkoranza North)
  • Joseph Dindiok Kpemka – Deputy Attorney General (Tempane)
  • George Andah – Deputy Minister for Communication (Awutu Senya West)
  • Barbara Ayisi – Deputy Minister for Works and Housing (Cape Coast North)
  • Boniface Abubakar Saddiq – Minister of State in the Office of the Vice President (Madina)
  • Paul Essien – Deputy Minister for Chieftaincy (Jomoro)
  • Elizabeth Afoley Quaye – Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture (Krowor)
  • Bernard Okoe-Boye – Deputy Minister for Health (Ledzokuku)
  • Titus Glover – Deputy Transport Minister (Tema East)
  • Barbara Oteng Gyasi – Deputy Minister for Lands and Natural Resources (Prestea Huni Valley)
  • Prof. Gyan Baffour – Minister of Planning (Wenchi)
  • Michael Yaw Gyato – Deputy Oti Regional Minister (Krachie East)
  • Frank Adongo – Deputy Upper East Regional Minister (Zebilla)
  • Tangoba Abayage – Upper East Regional Minister (Navrongo)
  • Kofi Dzamesi – Minister for Chiefteaincy (Ketu South)
  • Anthony Karbo – Deputy Minister for Roads and Highways (Lawra)
  • Kwesi Yankah – Minister of State in Charge of Tertiary Education (Agona East)

Some other Members of Parliament who lost their seats are;

Yaw Buaben Asamoah (NPP) – Adenta, Adam Muntalakilu (NDC)- Damango, Anthony Kappo (NPP), Abdul Aziz Mohammed (NDC), Barbara Asher Ayisi (NPP), Abraham Neequaye (NDC) – Okaikwei South, Bernard Okoe Boye (NPP) – Teshie, Joe Ghartey (NPP), Major Derek Oduro (NPP) – Nkoranza-North.

By Dominic Kepomey & Hannah Aseye

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *